cgpbadgerawscienceimage032William Nix to serve as Juror for 2016 Raw Science Film Festival

The Raw Science Film Festival (RSFF), now in its third year, honors films on science and technology worldwide. The film festival partners are Explore Mars, Space Tourism Society Canada, and the Arthur C. Clarke Center for Human Imagination. Categories include fiction and non-fiction for both students and professionals. Cash prizes are awarded. Animations and infographics are welcomed. he winners of the Raw Science Film Festival will be screened during the day at Fox Studios inside the historic Zanuck Theater on Saturday, December 10, 2016. The screening is followed by a black-tie-optional Awards Ceremony in true hosted "awards show" fashion that will be live-streamed with magic, brain games, and immersive experiences. The theme of the event is "Space 3.0," the development of private space in addition to augmented reality, virtual reality and mixed reality experiences. The best in science media from around the world will be celebrated.

rawscience2image033The panel of judges will determine winners of the Raw Science Film Festival 2016. The panel includes two of the most beloved science fiction authors of all time, an explorer who used citizen science to find Genghis Khan’s tomb and now 98% of the massive site in Tian with 10,000 unknown terra cotta warriors, the last member of The Supremes, an Academy Award winning visual effects artist, filmmakers, space architects, biohackers, pioneers in virtual reality, a professional football player, and the founder of a wireless power start-up. Every judge is an heroic explorer at the boundaries of human imagination.

Past winners include The Nostalgist, Habana, Genghis Khan Conquers the Moon, Science For The Masses, Symmetry, Ballet Meets Robotics, The Golden Shot, The Heart Thief, and 4850 Feet Underground (The Search for Dark Matter).

In addition to the festival competition, Raw Science Film Festival presents Industry Awards for: Best Documentary, Best Science Fiction, Best Television Series, Best New Media, Best Technical Innovation in Media and Best Visual Effects.  Past winners include Brian Knappenberger (Internet’s Own Boy), Andy Hendrickson (CTO of Disney Animation, Big Hero 6), Sean McNamara (Spare Parts), Aditya Sood (TheMartian), and IMAX for a novel laser projection system.

The annual Kip Thorne Gravity Award is for Best Depiction of a Scientific Principle. It was first accepted by Kip Thorne in 2014 for the novel depiction of gravity in the film Interstellar. Dr. Thorne accepted the first award and has presented it to subsequent winners. Lizabeth Fogel, the Director of Education at Walt Disney Company, accepted the award in 2015 on behalf of Pixar for the depiction of psychology in Inside Out. The Awards Ceremony will be an awe-inspiring event this year after the discovery of gravity waves! Dr. Kip Thorne, a theoretical physicist at California Institute of Technology, was a leader in their discovery.

This year marks the addition of a new annual award. The Arthur C. Clarke Center for Human Imagination Prize in Speculative Media will be awarded for speculative fiction that best deepens public understanding of science and technology and their potential impact on humanity and our world. The Arthur C. Clarke Center for Human Imagination integrates the arts, sciences, humanities, engineering and medicine to work on a new theoretical framework for exploring the basis of imagination. Through a global network of scientific and cultural partners they transfer discoveries from the University to the world beyond.

For further information on the Raw Science Film Festival, please see: